Posted in poetry, random, Uncategorized

the caged man

I feel like I’m inside a cage–

A four-walled cage with no roof. Every step I take, every turn my head makes, the walls in this cage compress – tightening the space around me. Every time I look up – hoping to steal a glance of the blue, vast sky – I see faces of people I don’t even know.

And what’s worse?

They’re whispering at each other’s ears, look at me in amusement, then laugh. Their laughter were just so shrill I can hear them over and over again – growing louder every minute. I want to escape but I can’t. I just can’t.

Why?

My hands and feet were tied behind my back by metal cuffs, clasped to a wall.

Ah. I remember now who did all of this to me. It was them. No, not the faces clouding and covering the sky but them, who were much closer to me. I told them about my fascinating dreams and breath-taking adventures right under their noses… but they didn’t believe me. One day, I asked for a drink, it was a while before they came back. And when I drank, I feel like my head’s being blown away from my body. Crying, a woman came to me, held my face, and said: “Sorry, but we have to do this for your sake.

Her voice was too melancholic and gloomy that I can hear it over and over again.

It was too painful for my ears but I can’t stop its playing over and over again – growing louder every second, every minute.

florence

Author:

"You need to get lost before you find yourself" likes: coffee ☕ || rain ☔ || books 📚 || music 🎧 || writing at 2 AM :)

Leave a Reply

